Official National holidays in Canada

National holidays in Canada , are legislated at the federal,provincial and territorial levels. Many of these holidays are observed  All over the country, but each province and territory in Canada has its own holidays as well.

While major Christian holidays such as Good Friday and Christmas are officially observed, leave is permitted for other religious holidays as well. For example, some school children and employees take days off for Jewish holidays, Muslim holidays, Hindu holidays, or Eastern Orthodox observances according to the Julian calendar. While not normally taken off work, Saint Patrick’s Day,Valentine’s Day, Halloween,Father’s Day and Mother’s Day are traditionally observed by Canadians. The Celebrate Canada series is a collection of important cultural days beginning with National Aboriginal Day on June 21, and followed by St-Jean Baptiste Day on June 24, Canadian Multiculturalism Day on June 27, and concluding with Canada Day on July 1.Following is the list of national holidays in  Canada .

List of the National holidays in Canada

Date Weekday Holiday name Holiday type
Jan 1 Friday New Year’s Day National holiday
Jan 2 Saturday Day After New Year’s Day Local holiday
Jan 6 Wednesday Epiphany Observance, Christian
Jan 7 Thursday Orthodox Christmas Day Orthodox
Jan 14 Thursday Orthodox New Year Orthodox
Jan 25 Monday Tu B’Shevat (Arbor Day) Jewish holiday
Feb 2 Tuesday Groundhog Day Observance
Feb 8 Monday Family Day Common Local holidays
Feb 8 Monday Chinese New Year Observance
Feb 9 Tuesday Carnival/Shrove Tuesday Christian
Feb 10 Wednesday Ash Wednesday Christian
Feb 14 Sunday Valentine’s Day Observance
Feb 15 Monday National Flag of Canada Day Observance
Feb 15 Monday Islander Day Common Local holidays
Feb 15 Monday Family Day Common Local holidays
Feb 15 Monday Nova Scotia Heritage Day Common Local holidays
Feb 15 Monday Louis Riel Day Common Local holidays
Feb 19 Friday Yukon Heritage Day Local holiday
Mar 1 Tuesday St David’s Day Observance
Mar 13 Sunday Daylight Saving Time starts Clock change/Daylight Saving Time
Mar 14 Monday Commonwealth Day Observance
Mar 14 Monday St. Patrick’s Day Local holiday
Mar 17 Thursday St. Patrick’s Day Observance
Mar 20 Sunday Palm Sunday Christian
Mar 20 Sunday March equinox Season
Mar 24 Thursday Maundy Thursday Christian
Mar 24 Thursday Purim Jewish holiday
Mar 25 Friday Good Friday National holiday, Christian
Mar 26 Saturday Holy Saturday Christian
Mar 27 Sunday Easter Sunday Observance, Christian
Mar 28 Monday Easter Monday Common Local holidays
Apr 6 Wednesday National Tartan Day Observance
Apr 9 Saturday Vimy Ridge Day Observance
Apr 23 Saturday First day of Passover Jewish holiday
Apr 25 Monday St. George’s Day Local holiday
Apr 29 Friday Orthodox Good Friday Orthodox
Apr 30 Saturday Last day of Passover Jewish holiday
Apr 30 Saturday Orthodox Holy Saturday Orthodox
May 1 Sunday Orthodox Easter Orthodox
May 2 Monday Orthodox Easter Monday Orthodox
May 4 Wednesday Yom HaShoah Jewish holiday
May 5 Thursday Ascension Day Christian
May 5 Thursday Isra and Mi’raj Muslim
May 8 Sunday Mother’s Day Observance
May 12 Thursday Yom HaAtzmaut Jewish holiday
May 15 Sunday Pentecost Christian
May 16 Monday Whit Monday Christian
May 22 Sunday Trinity Sunday Christian
May 23 Monday Victoria Day Common Local holidays
May 23 Monday National Patriots’ Day Local holiday
May 26 Thursday Corpus Christi Christian
May 26 Thursday Lag B’Omer Jewish holiday
Jun 7 Tuesday Ramadan begins Muslim
Jun 12 Sunday Shavuot Jewish holiday
Jun 19 Sunday Father’s Day Observance
Jun 20 Monday June Solstice Season
Jun 21 Tuesday National Aboriginal Day Observance
Jun 21 Tuesday National Aboriginal Day Local holiday
Jun 24 Friday St. Jean Baptiste Day Local holiday
Jun 27 Monday Discovery Day Local holiday
Jul 1 Friday Canada Day National holiday
Jul 1 Friday Memorial Day Local observance
Jul 2 Saturday Laylat al-Qadr (Night of Destiny) Muslim
Jul 7 Thursday Eid-al-Fitr Muslim
Jul 9 Saturday Nunavut Day Local holiday
Jul 11 Monday Orangemen’s Day Local holiday
Aug 1 Monday Heritage Day in Alberta Common Local holidays
Aug 1 Monday Civic/Provincial Day Common Local holidays
Aug 1 Monday Terry Fox Day Common Local holidays
Aug 1 Monday New Brunswick Day Common Local holidays
Aug 1 Monday British Columbia Day Common Local holidays
Aug 1 Monday Natal Day Common Local holidays
Aug 3 Wednesday The Royal St John’s Regatta (St John’s) Local holiday
Aug 14 Sunday Tisha B’Av Jewish holiday
Aug 15 Monday Assumption of Mary Christian
Aug 15 Monday Discovery Day Local holiday
Aug 19 Friday Gold Cup Parade Local holiday
Sep 5 Monday Labour Day National holiday
Sep 13 Tuesday Eid-al-Adha Muslim
Sep 22 Thursday September equinox Season
Oct 3 Monday Rosh Hashana Jewish holiday
Oct 3 Monday Muharram/Islamic New Year Muslim
Oct 4 Tuesday Feast of St Francis of Assisi Christian
Oct 10 Monday Thanksgiving Day National holiday
Oct 10 Monday Thanksgiving Day Observance
Oct 12 Wednesday Yom Kippur Jewish holiday
Oct 17 Monday First day of Sukkot Jewish holiday
Oct 23 Sunday Last day of Sukkot Jewish holiday
Oct 24 Monday Shmini Atzeret Jewish holiday
Oct 25 Tuesday Simchat Torah Jewish holiday
Oct 29 Saturday Diwali/Deepavali Observance
Oct 31 Monday Halloween Observance
Nov 1 Tuesday All Saints’ Day Observance
Nov 2 Wednesday All Souls’ Day Christian
Nov 6 Sunday Daylight Saving Time ends Clock change/Daylight Saving Time
Nov 11 Friday Remembrance Day National holiday
Nov 11 Friday Remembrance Day Observance
Nov 27 Sunday First Sunday of Advent Observance
Dec 8 Thursday Feast of the Immaculate Conception Christian
Dec 11 Sunday Anniversary of the Statute of Westminster Observance
Dec 12 Monday Prophet’s Birthday Muslim
Dec 21 Wednesday December Solstice Season
Dec 24 Saturday Christmas Eve Observance
Dec 25 Sunday First Day of Hanukkah Jewish holiday
Dec 25 Sunday Christmas National holiday, Christian
Dec 26 Monday Boxing Day Common Local holidays
Dec 31 Saturday New Year’s Eve Observance

 

Nationwide National holidays in Canada

Date English name Remarks
January 1 New Year’s Day Celebrates the first day of every year in the Gregorian calendar.
Friday before Easter Day Good Friday Commemorates the crucifixion of Jesus. In Quebec, non-federally regulated employers must give either Good Friday or Easter Monday as a statutory holiday, though some give both days.
July 1 Canada Day Celebrates Canada’s 1867 Confederation and establishment of dominion status.

In Newfoundland and Labrador, observed as Memorial Day.

First Monday in September Labour Day Celebrates economic and social achievements of workers.
December 25 Christmas Day Celebrates the Nativity of Jesus.

                                                                         National holidays in Canada

Leave a Reply