Spain National Football Team – Records

The first Spain national soccer team was constituted in 1920, with the main objective of discovering a staff that will characterize Spainat the Summer time Olympics held in Belgium in that very same yr. Spain made their debut on the event on 28 August 1920 againstDenmark, silver medallists on the final two Olympic tournaments. The Spanish managed to win that match by a scoreline of 1–zero, finally ending with the silver medal. Spain certified for his or her first FIFA World Cup in 1934, defeating Brazil of their first recreation and shedding in a replay to the hosts and eventual champions Italy within the quarter-finals. The Spanish Civil Struggle and World Battle II prevented Spain from taking part in any aggressive matches between the 1934 World Cup and the 1950 version’s qualifiers. On the 1950 finals in Brazil, they topped their team to progress to the ultimate spherical, then completed in fourth place. Till 2010, this had been Spain’s highest end in a FIFA World Cup finals, which had given them the title of the “underachievers”.

Spain received its first main worldwide title when internet hosting the 1964 European Championship held in Spain, defeating the Soviet Union 2–1 within the last on the Santiago Bernabéu Stadium.[19] The victory would stand as Spain’s lone main title for 44 years. Spain was chosen as host of the 1982 FIFA World Cup, reaching the second spherical, and 4 years later they reached the quarter-finals earlier than a penalty shootout defeat to Belgium.[20]

Javier Clemente was appointed as Spain’s coach in 1992, main them to the quarter-finals of the 1994 World Cup. The match grew to become controversial when Italian defender Mauro Tassotti struck Luis Enrique together with his elbow inside Spain’s penalty space, inflicting Luis Enrique to bleed profusely from his nostril and mouth, however he foul was not observed nor sanctioned by referee Sándor Puhl. Had the official acknowledged the foul, Spain would have merited a penalty kick. Within the 2002 World Cup, Spain received its three team play matches, then defeated the Republic of Eire on penalties within the second spherical. They confronted co-hosts South Korea within the quarter-finals, dropping in a shootout after having two objectives known as again for alleged infractions throughout common and further time.


At UEFA Euro 2008, Spain gained all their video games in Team D. Italy had been the opponents within the quarter-final match, which Spain received four–2 on penalties. They then met Russia once more within the semi-final, beating them three–zero. Within the ultimate, Spain defeated Germany 1–zero, with Fernando Torres scoring the one objective of the sport. This was Spain’s first main title for the reason that 1964 European Championship. Xavi was awarded the participant of the match. Within the 2010 World Cup, Spain superior to the ultimate for the primary time ever by defeating Germany 1–zero. Within the decisive match towards the Netherlands, Andrés Iniesta scored the match’s solely purpose, coming in additional time. Spain grew to become the third team to win a World Cup outdoors their very own continent, and the primary European crew to take action. Goalkeeper Iker Casillas gained the golden glove for less than conceding two objectives throughout the match, whereas David Villa gained thebronze ball and silver boot, tied for prime scorer of the match.

Spain certified prime of Team I in qualification for UEFA Euro 2012 with an ideal 100% file. They turned the primary crew to retain the European Championship, profitable the ultimate four–zero in opposition to Italy. Two years later, nevertheless, they had been eradicated from the team stage of the 2014 World Cup.

Coaching staff

Following is the list of the coaches of Spain national football team

Position Name
Head coach  Vicente del Bosque
Assistant coach  José Antonio Grande
Goalkeeping coach  José Manuel Ochotorena
Trainer  Francisco Javier Miñano Espín


Current Squad of Spain national football team

# Pos. Player Date of birth (age) Caps Goals Club
1 GK Iker Casillas (Captain) 20 May 1981 (age 35) 167 0  Porto
13 GK David de Gea 7 November 1990 (age 25) 9 0  Manchester United
23 GK Sergio Rico 1 September 1993 (age 22) 1 0  Sevilla
2 DF César Azpilicueta 28 August 1989 (age 26) 15 0  Chelsea
3 DF Gerard Piqué 2 February 1987 (age 29) 77 4  Barcelona
4 DF Marc Bartra 15 January 1991 (age 25) 10 0  Borussia Dortmund
12 DF Héctor Bellerín 19 March 1995 (age 21) 3 0  Arsenal
15 DF Sergio Ramos 30 March 1986 (age 30) 132 10  Real Madrid
16 DF Juanfran 9 January 1985 (age 31) 18 0  Atlético Madrid
17 DF Mikel San José 30 May 1989 (age 27) 7 0  Athletic Bilbao
18 DF Jordi Alba 21 March 1989 (age 27) 43 6  Barcelona
5 MF Sergio Busquets 16 July 1988 (age 27) 84 2  Barcelona
6 MF Andrés Iniesta 11 May 1984 (age 32) 109 13  Barcelona
8 MF Koke 8 January 1992 (age 24) 23 0  Atlético Madrid
10 MF Cesc Fàbregas 4 May 1987 (age 29) 106 15  Chelsea
14 MF Thiago 11 April 1991 (age 25) 10 0  Bayern Munich
19 MF Bruno 12 June 1984 (age 31) 8 0  Villarreal
21 MF David Silva 8 January 1986 (age 30) 99 24  Manchester City
7 FW Álvaro Morata 23 October 1992 (age 23) 9 3  Juventus
9 FW Lucas Vázquez 1 July 1991 (age 24) 1 0  Real Madrid
11 FW Pedro 28 July 1987 (age 28) 58 17  Chelsea
20 FW Aritz Aduriz 11 February 1981 (age 35) 6 1  Athletic Bilbao
22 FW Nolito 15 October 1986 (age 29) 9 4  Celta

Top goal scorers players in Spain football team

# Player Period Goals Caps Average
1 David Villa (list) 2005–2014 59 97 0.61
2 Raúl (list) 1996–2006 44 102 0.43
3 Fernando Torres 2003–2014 38 110 0.35
4 Fernando Hierro 1989–2002 29 89 0.33
5 Fernando Morientes 1998–2007 27 47 0.57
6 Emilio Butragueño 1984–1992 26 69 0.38
7 David Silva 2006– 24 98 0.24
8 Alfredo Di Stefano 1957–1961 23 31 0.74
9 Julio Salinas 1986–1996 22 56 0.39
10 Míchel


FIFA World Cup of Spain National football team

spain national football team fifa word cup recods

Spain  football team Records of UEFA European Championship 

UEFA European Championship